In blog-surfing recently and going through those 100 foods lists, I came across one that I really liked (namely because it didn’t seem snobby): 100 Canadian Foods to Consume. Those of you who aren’t casual readers know full well that I’m not Canadian, so it’s sort of a moot point for me to fill that one out, but it did bring up a few thoughts about what the heck I’d put on a Milwaukee foods list, and why.

Except I don’t think I could come up with 100 unique things. I haven’t tried nearly enough of the different things you can get here in town (like pączki), or really want to recommend (like braunschweiger). So I decided to come up with a few of my favorites that are, in my mind anyway, worth your time. Possibly worth eating/drinking before you die. Dunno, that’s up to you…

- bratwurst, grilled, on a bun
– Leinenkugel’s craft beer
– cheesecake from Suzy’s or dessert from Simma’s
– vegetarian chili from Outpost
– Door County cherries
– venison sausage
– Sprecher root beer
– fresh cheese curds
brandy old fashioned
– State Fair cream puff
– battered fried smelt or perch
– beer cheese soup
– frozen custard
– burek
– chimichangas with cheese
– sauerkraut
crullers

Any other suggestions?

