Since the readers of my LiveJournal seemed keen on it, I'm starting up another blog.  This go-round, I'm dealing with what I'm reading, what I'm cooking and probably some more random commentary on facing Teh Real World, as it were.

If you're new here, I'm Rhi, age 22, recent recipient of a BA from Smith College in American Studies.  My current Plan is to work a mundane job for a year or two and save some money so I can relocate and possibly go to grad school…all of which is a precursor to my ultimate goal of making movies.  I have several alternate lives, one as a fangirl and two others in RPGs…but that isn't really going to be the issue here.
I also tend to rant.  Lots.  And most of the books I read are either on food or science fiction.  Consider yourself warned.

I suppose I'll start with a few thoughts on what I've been reading recently: The Da Vinci Code and the Miles Vorkosigan novels.

Probably it's safe to say that I'm one of the last readers in the English-speaking world to tackle Dan Brown.  I came to him like I did Harry Potter…with massive trepidation.  And unlike J.K. Rowling, Dan Brown really doesn't have a good concept of how a third person narrative actually works.  His writing is either pedantic or ridiculously simplistic.  The love story is tacked on in a worse fashion than in a Wachowski brothers film, and the plot is just plain wacky.
And you've heard all of this before, I'm sure.
That said, The Da Vinci Code is one of those books that one just can't put down.  It's not good, but it's interesting enough that you want to get to the ending, and for once I didn't see the biggest plot twist coming at all.
Just do me a favour and don't buy it, kay?  It isn't worth the $8…though from what I hear, it's a better use of your money than the film.  Oh, Ron Howard.

As for Lois McMaster Bujold…I never thought I'd like military SF.  It's always been a long haul for me.  But the Vorkosigan novels are a combination of the military and the cultural (the latter being my preference) to a degree where things are consistently interesting and always, always moving.
The big thing here is that Miles Vorkosigan is a bipolar smug bastard, alternately overconfident and completely lost regarding himself, who understands the varied worlds and cultures of his universe far more easily than he does women, while not being too much of a misogynist.  He's a good guy but kind of a jackass…and sometimes a fuckup…and I LIKE him.  God, I like him.
Miles and the cultural differences of his universe are the two driving forces of these novels, besides the plot.  And by the end, you really care about most of the things Miles cares about, which makes these a real success.  They're not great literature, but they're good reading and they move.  The last one I've read was Memory.

Off that topic, I've started my summer project of making my way through as much of the twofifty as I deem necessary (for a film person to see) by checking out The Shawshank Redemption.  Unfortunately, I'm not off to watch it right now…I'm more in the mood for some CSI.

