WisCon con report shall be forthcoming. I promise. I had a fantastic time and met some really fascinating and fun people, as well as did the fangirl thing and got several books signed. If I can make one quick comment, Go Read The Tiptree Winners. Particularly Half Life, by Shelley Jackson, which is surreal and funny and makes my American Studies student self smile. It’s very interstitial, in the sense that it isn’t science fiction of the strictest sense, but it’s in that not-real real that is magical realism.

Wow, that made less sense on the screen than it did in my head. Sorry. While you’re at it, might as well hit up the honor list for Mindscape, by my former prof Andrea Hairston. It’s really well-crafted and just…well, boggles the mind.

The weather here in Wisconsin has been terribly sporadic lately. My mother is of the opinion that Thou Shalt Not Start The AC Until Thou Art Miserable, and that’s a bit problematic in that turning on the oven or range makes the AC a slightly moot point. Not to mention that we try to keep energy down (less because of environmental concerns and more because of bills).

So it’s really been too hot to cook, except for the past day or so–it went from about 85 this weekend to 60 or so right now, and damp. In a way, though, it was really good timing, as I had promised to make something for a potluck this evening. Namely, the rum cake I had made before and that everyone had really enjoyed. Probably because it is rather booze-laden and we’re all in Wisconsin.

It’s also tremendously easy (and the recipe isn’t mine, it’s my aunt’s, incidentally). You basically make a yellow pudding cake with rum replacing half of the water, bake it in a Bundt or tube pan, cool and poke holes in it, then put this butter rum glaze over the top. The glaze…well, the rum’s not cooked with the glaze, partially for fire hazard reasons and partially because it’s better this way. I’ll have to let you know what the people thought, though last time they were very enthusiastic. If you want the exact recipe, drop me a comment.

Incidentally, while I’m talking pans and recommending books, the history of the Bundt pan is documented really well in Cookoff, by Amy Sutherland. The rest of the book is great too, and reads something like a Food Network special with even more human drama and behind the scenes. A whole world of competition that I only vaguely knew existed is some people’s life’s work.

By the way, I see from my stats that a lot of people read the feed.  Just curious as to how you’re getting here–drop me a line?

