I’m an omnivore.

This is sad but true, really; I can’t seem to give up the meat.  Though the last time I did, I lost nine pounds, so maybe it’s a good plan for the moment, as I’d like to fit into some clothes I have again.

Anyway, last night we had some very delicious pork chops that came pre-marinated, and they were very good indeed, and between that and reading Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma last month, I have decided that there is really only so much one can do for animal rights.  Which, I think, was also the conclusion he came to.  I think.

What struck me was Pollan’s investigation into the organic food industry, and that unless you buy local and directly from the source, your organic free-range meat isn’t all that free-range at all…it has the option of going outside, but it doesn’t much, because to keep it organic and antibiotic-free, they have to limit its movements and external interaction.  Makes sense, but it’s also very sad.

So I suppose the other option is Give Up The Meat, but that’s harder than it sounds; for living in Wisconsin, my family eats relatively little and yet I still feel guilty about it.  So my conclusion is that this whole system is a mess and even though Pollan makes suggestions, I highly doubt America will be willing to take any of them until it’s too late.  This country doesn’t adapt well to change, even legislated change.  We’re far too used to claiming that we have rights, and those rights supersede everything else, even the common good.

…that’s why all us American Studies majors are a bit emotionally masochistic, I think.  It’s not a fun realization, but it’s one so interesting to us that it’s impossible to look away.

