Here at Not Be Televised, we we being just me like to ponder the big questions.  Like, ‘Is there a certain brain chemistry behind religious belief?’ or ‘Why are people threatened by women in power?’ or ‘Why should I care what celebrities had for lunch?’

Today, we address: ‘Why does Paige knit?’

In the great scheme of things, it’s a minor question, but important in terms of self-analysis.  I’d like to say that I knit to subvert the dominant domestic paradigm and that I am totally incognito as a young liberal with pointy sticks, sticking it to The Man (no pun intended), but to be honest, that really doesn’t have much conscious bearing on things.  Nor do I do it to be Miss Junior Suzie Homemaker.  Or to reclaim lost historical traditions or to kick consumerism in the shins.  Anyone who’s gone to an independent yarn store knows that’s crap.

I’m just not that good a person, either as a liberal or a conservative.  I do it because I like to make stuff.

Now, why do I like to make stuff?  Besides ‘it’s fun’,  I figure there are several psychologically rooted reasons:

  1. I like being complimented and recognised for positive things I have produced, e.g. LOOKITMELOOKITLOOKMOMMYLOOK!  This is probably symptomatic of my generation being told we could do anything and then finding out we can’t, validation ueber alles.
  2. I’m a child of the computer age and find it difficult to focus on anything if I’m not multi-tasking.
  3. I like the personal pride of creating something new from raw parts.  Also, the fact that I can select my own colors and styles and size means there’s satisfaction there.  It’s definitely NOT cheaper, though.
  4. Let’s face it, there’s something inherently soothing about being able to stab soft yarn with pointy needles and make it bend to your will.  It does wonders for frustration.

So generally, I don’t knit from any real sense of personal altruism or social welfare, unless you count not unleashing my stressed out days on the universe.  Sorry.  When you look at it from this perspective, though, everyone can and should be crafty, if they enjoy it.  There’s no reason to say ‘only women should knit and crochet’ or ‘knitting and crocheting isn’t feminist’.  It’s working off reasoning and social norms that are no longer relevant.

Heck, I wouldn’t want to mess with anyone with some size 2 dpns, is all I’m saying.

