A grab bag today, because my generation has a notoriously bad attention span and I have nothing too extensive to say, but things that I want to say regardless.  Never mind that I myself really enjoy reading long blog posts.

– It is really freakin’ cold out and will be for the rest of the week.  Yesterday it was not.  There was also snow and rain and wet yesterday.  Guess what this means for the driver’s side lock on my car?  Hint: It’s a logical progression.
Fortunately, the passenger side wasn’t frozen at all, and the lock itself isn’t frozen either.  Just the key mechanism.  If anyone has any natural advice for warming those, let me know, because otherwise I’m totally going to invest in some de-icer stuff tonight.

– Speaking of chemical solutions, the book of last week is Twinkie, Deconstructed.  Unless you cook all your food from scratch, you’re totally consuming a whole bunch of ridiculously processed stuff, it seems.  It’s inescapable, really surprising, and terribly educational.  Also, Twinkies aren’t as bad as people make them out to be, compared to everything else we eat.
The best part was learning that the brown part on Twinkies is actually the Maillard reaction from baking, and not just painted on to LOOK baked.  This came completely out of left field, in my mind.

– Tom Petty is the Super Bowl halftime performer this year, which is very exciting to me, the fan community, and all the other 55 year-old white baby boomer males in America.  I might actually watch the Patriots slaughter the Cowboys, then.  (Yes, those are my picks.  I’d much rather see the Cowboys get creamed than the Pack, really.)

– Apparently my college is going through its periodic racism problem, followed by community not-quite-dialogue that does nothing much but accomplish nothing, add white guilt to the mix, and cause people to be bigoted and stupid anonymously on the Daily Jolt, perpetuating the cycle.
I’m of the opinion that this won’t be fully sorted until society gets itself sorted.  However, that doesn’t mean we can’t work towards a better society.  This whole thing just isn’t the way to go about it.  I don’t know what is, though, except maybe going around with inflatable bats and whacking people on the head.

– I am hoping…HOPING…to get Shan’s Baudelaire socks done by the end of the week.  Hoping.  I’ve begun to turn the second heel.  These are some great socks, by the way–they knit up wicked fast, and I just may be a Cookie A. convert.  You won’t see them in the progress sidebar, by the way, as I am too busy to recode the whole thing.  Does anyone know where that thing that imports info from Ravelry comes from?  It would make my life easier.

– I am so excited about The Golden Compass that I’m rereading The Subtle Knife, which I didn’t really like as much.  I wish I had wee ones to take to the film.  Also, has it been that short a time since I was wee myself and reading the book at age 11?  Apparently not, as we’re here, nearly 13 years later.  I don’t care what the site says: my daemon’s totally a hawk.

