Despite being an agnostic, I must confess that I am keen on certain bits and pieces of Christmas; I was raised with it and it’s just…well, one of those things.  Maybe it’s just that I’m tired of eating off disposable dishware, but this Christmas is decidedly lacking in oomph.  Bah humbug.

The holiday knitting has progressed, by the by; I’m nearly done with the brotherly item (Lane, if you’re reading this, you better appreciate it).  Which is one of those four things that I learned this holiday season: how to do Magic Loop, how to make hot buttered rum, that there can be a version of ‘I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus’ that is not putrid,* and how to have Too Much Crap.  Oh, and the pleasure of not going to the mall after the end of November.

So now I’m amusing myself by trying to think of movies, films, books, shows, theatre…any story that has a holiday as a substantial plot point but is NOT in the ‘holiday’ genre.  Mostly, I’ve come up with RENT (thus the subject of this post), Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, A Little Princess, and the Laura Ingalls Wilder book The Long Winter.  Can anyone think of anything else?  (As a kid who came of age with Home Alone, I don’t quite see that as a Christmas movie, mostly because it was so culturally pervasive, but I won’t list that here.)

As for explicitly holiday genre, A Christmas Story beats everything.  With a compass in the stock.

* John Mellencamp in the A Very Special Christmas series.  You won’t believe it ’til you hear it.

